CICERO - Center for International Climate Research

Norway's leading institute for climate research

Recent news

CICERO is helping to develop a new global emissions monitoring service (CoCO2)

Together with 24 partners in 14 countries, CICERO is working to develop a European operational service for monitoring global greenhouse gas emissions, as part of the EU-funded project Prototype system for a Copernicus CO2 service, the CoCO2 project.


Global temperatures are rising due to the accumulation of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. In addition to increasing greenhouse gas emissions, human activity has changed the composition of particles in the atmosphere. These have masked some of the warming caused by the greenhouse gases. How large is this cooling effect, and how has it changed over time?


Increasing temperatures and heat waves due to climate change, combined with air pollution, constitute major health risks, and could cause an increase in cardiovascular and respiratory diseases across Europe. EXHAUSTION (Exposure to heat and air pollution in Europe – cardiopulmonary impacts and benefits of mitigation and adaptation) aims to quantify the changes in cardiopulmonary mortality and morbidity due to extreme heat and air pollution (including from wildfires) under selected climate scenarios.


This project will help enhance the knowledge base for and support the development of a strategy for BC/OC co-control in China.

New study shows lack of government support for renewable energy communities

Although EU law gives all citizens in Europe the right to participate in a renewable energy community, there is a lack of national support schemes for the development of such communities, a new study shows.

More posts

Recent publications

Entering, enduring and exiting: the durability of shared mobility arrangements and habits

Brendan J. Doody, Tim Schwanen, Derk Loorbach, Sem Oxenaar, Peter Arnfalk, Elisabeth M.C. Svennevik, Tom Erik Julsrud, Eivind Farstad

Understanding Top-of-Atmosphere Flux Bias in the AeroCom Phase III Models: A Clear-Sky Perspective

Wenying Su, Lusheng Liang, Gunnar Myhre, Tyler J. Thorsen, Norman G. Loeb, Gregory L. Schuster, Paul Ginoux, Fabien Paulot, David Neubauer, Ramiro Checa-Garcia, Hitoshi Matsui, Kostas Tsigaridis, Ragnhild B. Skeie, Toshihiko Takemura, Susanne E. Bauer, M Schulz

Distinct surface response to black carbon aerosols

Tao Tang, Drew Shindell, Yuqiang Zhang, Apostolos Voulgarakis, Jean-Francois Lamarque, Gunnar Myhre, Greg Faluvegi, Bjørn Hallvard Samset, Timothy Andrews, Dirk Jan Leo Oliviè, Toshihiko Takemura, Xuhui Lee

Economic and Environmental Benefits from Municipal Solid Waste Recycling in the Murmansk Region

Anton Orlov, Elena Klyuchnikova, Anna Korppoo

Implementing a sectional scheme for early aerosol growth from new particle formation in the Norwegian Earth System Model v2: comparison to observations and climate impacts

Sara Marie Blichner, Terje K. Berntsen, Moa Kristina Sporre, Risto Makkonen